Weigh the Value Part 3

UPDATED step three:
organize your shopping trips with store rewards and a list of the deals into an envelope.
you now have:
  • one sleeker binder with tons of great coupons
  • a file cabinet of efficiently organized coupons
you will need:
  • a plastic pocket for gathering coupons for shopping trips

I now use a plastic pocket as my shopping companion. NO binder on grocery trips! You can use your binder if you prefer, but I have a baby now and I can’t lug around him and my binder, even the 1/2 inch one, around a store. I just keep this handy pocket in our stroller pocket or diaper bag. The size is great; it holds all printable coupons and the Target Cartwheel print-out. (See, I still don’t have a smartphone.) Still testing this out with Baby.

This pocket has only coupons I need plus a few random coupons that I know I want to use in the near future. The CVS ExtraBucks print out is usually in here as well as some “must use” coupons with approaching expiration dates for must-have items like diapers. As long as I go through it regularly, cleaning out what I don’t use, it’s a small mess that I can live with.

in summary:
step one:
know the coupons and know what coupons your household WILL use and COULD use.

step two:
organize the coupons you don’t need to bring with you and don’t plan to use right away (trust me, FILE FOLDERS!)

step three:
organize your shopping trips with store rewards and a list of the deals into an envelope.

Leave a Reply

