New Baby Series – Intro

Hey there!

I’ve been meaning to share all my wisdom I’ve gained in the past 6 months of being a first-time mom.

I was going to do videos, but let’s be honest. It’s summer (I’m wearing little to no makeup) and I’m a mom of a 6-month old (I look kind of frumpy and ugly). I get embarrassed about my appearance just to do a grocery store run, so videos are out of the question for now, though I might do them in the future.

I am not an expert at babies, but here are my qualifications:

  • I’m an English Teaching major, and a reader, and therefore, I read (critically) every single review I can before I buy a product.
  • I’m OCD. I have to have everything coordinated and in order. I have to have matching pantry jars with labels on them, arranged in alphabetical order. I love to organize; I hate clutter. I like to plan and make lists.
  • I want to emphasize it again: I’m OCD. I’m one of those people who has a spreadsheet of all the diapers, wipes and clothes we have for Baby*. Yes, I keep track of everything. I know that Baby has used 932 size-2 diapers and I can estimate how much I spent to get those.
  • I’m budget-savvy. Sure, I like to splurge on cute bags (more on my diaper bag later) and I do spend money on quality “have-to-have-it” items, but I am conscientious of my spending and stick to my budget religiously. I’m one of those people who loves Pinterest DIY projects that help save money and find knockoffs of brand-name stuff. I love using coupons (though I’ve scaled back a lot on couponing since having Baby #1) and I coupon-shop at Target and CVS.
  • I am a new parent; I just had a baby six months ago. A lot of new products we have were not available when our parents were new parents or when our friends were new parents. We also have the blessing/curse of the Internet, YouTube and Amazon reviews but it has helped me to make better buying decisions when it comes to baby gear.

I have a lot of friends and family who are newlyweds that I dedicate this series of posts to. (We are using my mom’s definition of newlywed, which means, married without babies!) Let me tell you: Babies change your life DRASTICALLY.

You can never prepare enough.

After having Baby, I met a girl at church who told me, “I wanted to know why all the women I knew didn’t WARN me about having babies! Why didn’t you tell me it was going to be like this? Then I realized there is nothing they could have said to prepare me enough.”

This is coming from a girl who had TRIPLETS her first pregnancy.  And I completely agree with her. It’s a huge life-changer, whether you’ve having one or three.

But I still believe in preparation in knowledge and resources. That’s why I want to share what I’ve learned. There are some things you can do to prepare yourself. If you have some preparation, it does a lot of good when you are a new parent.

It’s a time that is exhilarating, fun, overwhelming and downright exhausting. So thank you for letting me be a part of your new adventure.

DSC_0208
That was me…once!

Congratulations…in advance!

-SimpleGirl

*Note: our baby’s name is Baby on this blog to provide some privacy. I’m sharing this mostly with friends, but it’s just in case you want to share this with other friends and their friends, etc. My husband is referred to as SimpleGuy, or SG abbreviated.

And I’d love to hear from you, whether you are a new parent or not-so-new, please share your knowledge and experiences with me so I can pass it on to my family and friends.

One thought on “New Baby Series – Intro

Leave a Reply

