Stockpile Diapers

stockpilediapersUPDATE: I found this video that confirms what I wrote. Guess I’m a Krazy Coupon Lady.

Here are some options for stocking up on diapers:
  1. If you plan to use coupons regularly, stock up on Pampers and Huggies in Sizes 1 and 2 from CVS, Walgreens and/or Target. It was not uncommon to see .15c a diaper at CVS or Target for Size 1 and 2 diapers after combining manufacturer’s coupons, store coupons and promotions.
  2. If you do not use manufacturer’s coupons and are a Costco/Sam’s Club member, I’d stock up on and use the Costco/Kirkland Signature Supreme brand at Costco (similar to Huggies Little Snugglers), or Huggies/Pampers at Sam’s Club, when they go on sale with warehouse coupons. Note: Costco does not carry Pampers, Sam’s does.
  3. If you don’t have Costco or Sam’s Club membership, but still want to stock up, I’d suggest using Amazon Mom (but membership for Prime is $99/year, try the free trial first if possible). They can ship diapers to you (you don’t have to leave the house!) in bulk boxes so I would make sure you know which brand you want to use (experiment first). Once you open 234 diapers, there’s no going back. Don’t forget to clip coupons on Amazon for additional savings.

FAQ

      • WHAT BRANDS SHOULD I STOCKPILE?

I recommend stockpiling Pampers Swaddlers or Little Snugglers for newborns but that’s just my preference. I like Pampers Swaddlers for solely-breastfed babies. It is a lot easier to use Baby Dry/Snug and Dry or equivalents with older babies around 6 mo and up, size 3 and up. A lot of skin issues that newborns have will be gone by then and they have started solids.

      • SHOULD I BUY NEWBORN SIZE DIAPERS?

Limit buying or skip altogether the newborn size because you will get some at the hospital. (For my 8 lb. 12 oz baby, I only bought 3 jumbo packs and received 2 packs from the hospital, totaling 5 packs of N diapers. A premie or smaller baby may need more but that’s to be determined at birth. Jumbo is a really dumb name–each pack only lasts 3-4 days.)

Sometimes you should buy N sized diapers though!*

      • HOW WILL I HAVE ROOM FOR ALL THESE DIAPERS?

Some people will tell you not to stock up on diapers, that you can’t predict what you will use. I think that’s bogus. First of all, when I say stock up, I’m not suggesting you buy an entire stockroom full of diapers, just a few packs or a box of each size–maybe try both premium brands and a few packs of generic brands. During baby’s 2-3 month (Size 1-2) is a good time to try out brands since you go through so many (if your baby has no skin issues.)

Most babies will be in Size 1 for at least a month (probably two).  Most babies will be in Size 2 for at least a month (probably two or three months). So I’d suggest trying to buy about 300 diapers of each size.  (Predict that baby will go through around 10 a day for 30 days). Then you at least have two months’ worth of diapers and are strategically waiting for the next sale to buy what you need.

*REMEMBER: Don’t open diapers until you need them, You can always gift or donate extra unopened diapers or exchange them for a bigger size if you kept the receipt and have time/gas money. Keep this in mind when pursuing diaper deals:

Once upon a time I went to Target in pursuit of one of their diaper deals. Target has quite a few of them throughout the year. Usually, it is a deal requiring you to buy 2 boxes and you will get $x amount of Target gift card; don’t forget to use coupons too. (The diaper gurus will then hold onto the gift card and roll the gift card money into the next diaper deal, but that’s a story for another day.)

Unless you live next to Target or go early Monday morning, most likely you will find the diaper aisle sparse, like it’s-the-end-of-the-world sparse. And you may not find two boxes of the size you want. Never fear! If you can find any size to complete the deal, go ahead and buy them!

I saw a lady take whatever size was available at my local Target and mention something about bringing them back to her husband. I was intrigued.

There was a box of size N and size 1 left just for me. I needed size 3. This wasn’t going to work and I thought maybe I should go across town to find the right size but that Target store would also be picked clean.

Then my couponing bulb lit up, because…of course! They will restock eventually and as long as you keep your receipt, you can do an even exchange (for the desired size) later (90 days). They can also look up the purchase using the credit card that was used.

The following week, I took my diapers back to Target and then picked from a fresh supply of diapers, making sure I was getting the right size of box of 3’s (note all sizes will have different numbers of diapers so be sure to check for boxes with the same list price). Voila. The only stress involved is to bring the boxes back, keep receipts and make time for another trip to Target within 90 days.

Seems crazy, but when you understand how awesome diaper deals are, you’ll go to any length to get them.

3 thoughts on “Stockpile Diapers

Leave a Reply

