Petunia Pickle Bottom Boxy Backpack Review

The Petunia Pickle Bottom Boxy Backpack is the only diaper bag I have used. There may be better out there but I haven’t cared to look because despite its few shortcomings, my bag is doing its job.

DSC_0550

I bought my bag on sale at Pottery Barn Kids. For some reason, it was on that sale shelf in the very back with random odds and ends. So after much pacing around the store and deliberating, I bought it.

*I probably would not have bought it full-price.* But now I love these bags and if this one wears out, I may have to get another at full-price.

The pattern is a PBK exclusive and is no longer available. But there are tons of just-as-cute patterns coming out every year.

After 8 months, I’ve used it quite a bit and it’s held up pretty well.

Things I like about it:

  • It is pretty! I know that this seems unimportant, but for a mom who can barely look presentable to go out, this is kind of a bigger deal than I thought initially.  I love how it makes me appear dressed up even when I am in drab clothes.
  • It is big enough. I am a petite girl at 5’2 and 110 lbs so I think this bag is as big as I could handle. A lot of diaper bags are huge and bulky. This one is compact yet roomy enough to fit what I need.
  • I love the changing pad and diaper section in the front. This diaper bag is more designed for changing rather than feeding.
  • The older versions of this bag had velcro closure which was reported to be very loud in a lot of online reviews, but this 2012 version uses snaps and magnetic closure, a huge improvement over velcro.
  • This bag can barely fit under a plane seat. It’s a tight fit but it can fit. We’ve flown American, Delta and Southwest with it.

Things I don’t like about it:

  • The bag is not machine washable. But I haven’t had any issue with this. I usually do not carry open food in the bag. I also pack around small sacks for diapers, so the bag has stayed clean for 2 years.
  • It is not insulated for bottles but this hasn’t been an issue for me because I breastfeed.
  • I wish the bag had a padded strap because I do wear it primarily messenger-bag style.
  • The backpack straps are a good feature but for me, they feel uncomfortable unless I wear a winter coat as padding. I feel like in the backpack mode, the bag sits weird on your back, but that’s my opinion. The hardware also is a bit squeeky at first (Two years later, there is little to no squeak). At home and in and out of the car in surburbia, I use it as a messenger bag. I really only use it as a backpack when I’m traveling (at the airport for instance) or out for long periods of time and need to carry it on my person rather than on the stroller.
  • It can get heavy, if you pack a lot of stuff. It is a heavy bag to begin with.

DSC_0557

Side note: As another option, I’d consider the Petunia Pickle Bottom Glazed Sashay Satchel, perhaps when Baby gets a little older and needs less things. I really like the sleek design (but it is thinner than the Boxy), that it looks like a regular purse, and like the Boxy Backpack, you can wear it as a backpack.

Moneysaver Tip: The Petunia Pickle Bottom outlet site has occasional sales on discontinued designs. Sign up to hear about sales. Select designs are on 30-60% off.

6 thoughts on “Petunia Pickle Bottom Boxy Backpack Review

Leave a Reply

