Baby Spoons and Bibs

beabaspoons1Béaba First Stage Soft Spoons ($20, pack of 4):

Pros:

  • they are completely silicone–no metal or hard edges — this is especially useful when Baby is teething and needs something to chew on while on the high chair. He loves to grab these and chew on them.
  • they have a good soup-spoon shape — this is really important for babies first starting Stage 1 foods or when their cereal is still really runny. The key is to find the right portion amount, the amount the spoons can hold without spillage. With practice, you’ll find they can hold a lot.

One (sad) true story:

One day, one of my OXO Tot feeding spoons (see review below) fell out of the utensil holder in the dishwasher and its white handle melted at the bottom of the dishwasher. My Beaba spoons were in the dishwasher and completely absorbed the nasty plastic smell of the melted handle.

I couldn’t bear to use them anymore, so I had to buy a second pair (…another $20 bucks). I had to have them because I still love them; I could not stand to just use the OXO tot spoons; the Beaba handle is so much more comfortable.

Cons

  • they stain and trust me, this will drive the perfectionist mom in you to go nuts.  Even with my second set, I rinse them almost right after using them, but they are still yellow. (Just give up.)
  • they are silicone so they also absorb dishwasher smells – I recommend handwashing them. You can wash them in the dishwasher (I did with my first set), but I just prefer not to anymore.
  • they are expensive, but there are more expensive spoons out there. The Spuni First Stage Soft Spoons caught my attention the last time I was on Amazon, so I will try them out for Baby #2 and see if it’s worth the money.

Note: They have new colors out now. And I kind of hate them (the pastel pink is now a red-violet color). The colors shouldn’t matter to me so much, but they do. They’re perfect girl colors though. When I needed to replace the first set no major online retailer had the older version so I had to go to Buy Buy Baby (whose coupons, of course, exclude Beaba products) to find my original set because I’m OCD like that.

It’s hard to find a discounted set, but I’d recommend using Pottery Barn Kids (PBK) if you can locate a coupon or registry completion code. Their coupons do not exclude Beaba products (for now). I used a PBK $10 off coupon from the holidays on a set of spoons that I plan to gift to a new mom or relative.

oxototspoonOxo Tot On-the-Go Feeding Spoon ($4.99 for one):

We also have the Oxo Tot Feeding Spoons that come in a set of two, so these have become our diaper bag spoons. When one is dirty, it’s easy to switch them out.

Pros:

  • These are less expensive than the Beaba spoons
  • The inside of the spoon is made up of metal, making a firm spoon, which is great for cutting up foods like bananas or avocados (two of Baby’s favorite foods) but this also means these are not the best teething items.

Cons

  • they have hard plastic handles (which I learned can melt in the dishwasher if they accidentally fall to the heating coil in the washer; just be careful or handwash as I do now; I don’t want to repeat the (sad) true story ever again)
  • I wish they would just sell the cases!
  • The spoon is curved so that excess runny food can fall off the spoon easily if you are not careful. The Beaba spoon is rounder so it holds liquid better. But by the time your baby is on Stage 3 foods, this won’t matter so much. It just takes time and practice to get right.

feedingbibscartersCarter’s 3-pack Feeding Bibs (not the teething bibs, $20 MSRP for 3 (wait for a sale and use coupons!)

I wish I had these when Baby first started solids.

We had the smaller Carter’s teething bibs with velcro closure and only seven months after using them daily, the velcro does not work anymore, so they are going into the trash. I absolutely hate when money goes to waste like that. Carter’s is usually my go-to brand, but not for their teething bibs.

We were also gifted Tommee Tippee Explora bibs. These are roll-able, durable (silicone) bibs, which seem like a great idea especially for self-feeding babies, but they are too tight and stiff in the neck for my baby with a big head and neck and therefore I can’t recommend these unless your baby has a small head and is +7 months.

This Carter’s set is a bigger size than the teething bibs; they have snaps and have a lined 3-layer construction. They can stain (as they are cotton interlock material not vinyl) but with regular washes, they’ve held up better than I expected. We bought two packs for $22 after tax. (There was a sale and I showed the sales associate a coupon on my phone and she accepted it! Don’t shop the store without coupons!)

Tips for the right bib:

  • snap closure (it’s worth it, I promise)
  • durable — lined or waterproof
  • soft and comfortable

There are plenty of vinyl-like bibs (waterproof) but none I’ve seen with snaps. I guess velcro is more cost-effective to manufacture but does not last.

I feel the Carter’s teething bibs meet all requirements.

5 thoughts on “Baby Spoons and Bibs

  1. I brought the INFANT HAPPINESS SPROUT SPOONS for my son and they were just as good and half the price.!!

    ##https://www.amazon.com/Training-Approved-Flexible-Bendable-Silicone/dp/B01JGZK9IM/ref=lp_14564160011_1_1_a_it?srs=14564160011&ie=UTF8&qid=1485375393&sr=8-1

    1. Thank you for sharing this product. I only see two spoons for 9.99, which is essentially the same price per spoon as beaba. I do however see other silicone spoons on Amazon that are BPA free that people are interested should check out. These were not that common to find even three or four years ago. Thanks for visiting my blog.

Leave a Reply

