Our Upcoming Additions

Sorry that I’ve been MIA from the blog recently.

But in my defense, I have a really good excuse.

I’ve been sick all summer. pregnant. with twins.

First, it was a matter of getting through the day with a 2-year old while completely exhausted and nauseated. I have a version of morning sickness much better than a lot of other moms out there, so I shouldn’t complain, really.

But then I received The News, that SimpleGuy and I knew might happen if we were to go on fertility meds, which is multiples. No one thinks it will happen to them. Then it does.

Lest you think I’m a Debbie Downer, please know that I realize I’m doubly blessed. But I also realize it’s going to be a huge adjustment for me and SG, our marriage and relatively low-drama family life with Baby (aka Toddler). Besides his occasional tantrum, we’ve lived as a threesome in a slice of heaven. We’re all reasonable, calm people but I know this will be life-changing and a part of my heart and mind is scared to death of the responsibilities ahead.

So I’m celebrating a new chapter but also mourning the loss of the old one. I’m excited yet irked to be buying (yet) some more baby clothes because I’ll need more of everything that I painstakingly accumulated from clearance racks and bargain hunting over the last two years. What I envisioned of hand-me-downs and using the same stroller and car seat for Baby’s little bro or sis, is turning into a do-over shopping frenzy. I’ll write a book and call it The Things They Carried. Again. I felt like a veteran mom of one and now I’m back to school as a new expecting mom of twins.

I’ll be wrapping up the New Baby Series this fall and taking a break around the holidays. But I will resume with more advice and lessons learned with twins when I’m up to it again.

Love,

SimpleGirl

One thought on “Our Upcoming Additions

  1. TWINS??? Congratulations!!! Before having kids, I thought twins would be the best thing ever. But now I can see why you’re stressed. I can’t wait to read more of your research with twins. It’ll be interesting what you can teach us on little things like buying carriers and car seats and how this pregnancy is different from the last. Congrats again–and good luck!

Leave a Reply

